FAQs

Pre Event

What is the Science Online (SO):Inspired Conference?

This first annual conference will gather the community of science educators, administrators, and thought leaders who are inspiring the next generation of scientists so we can exchange ideas, stories, tips, and best practices.

When is the Conference?

All events take place on October 14, 2020. Pre-conference workshops will begin at 08:30 am Eastern Time (14:30 CET, 5:30 am Pacific) and will be especially relevant for European educators. The Welcome and Opening Keynote will be held at 11:00 am Eastern (17:00 CET, 8:00 am Pacific), followed by several sessions of interest to all science educators. The event will end with a Closing Keynote at 3:45 Eastern Time (21:45 CET, 12:45 Pacific).

Who Should Attend?

Science educators and administrators from high schools, colleges, and universities. We encourage you to forward the event details to any colleagues that may be interested.

Who Will Speak? What are the Session Topics?
The agenda page lists the latest information on speakers and session topics.
Will the conference be recorded?

Yes, each session will be recorded and made available on-demand following the conference. If you register for the conference, you will be able to access the recordings.

Will attendees be able to network/talk with each other?

Yes! We will have a community chat forum with several chat rooms in addition to interactive Q&A sessions with the speakers. In addition, we’d love to have you join us in the conversation on Twitter with the hashtag #scienceonline2020!

What is the Hashtag for the Conference?

The hashtag is #scienceonline2020. Feel free to also message us @labster throughout the conference if you have any questions.

On the Day

What is the Slido address for Q&A?
A pop-up window will offer you the option to enter one of the dedicated session rooms. Please choose the name of the session you are attending. From there you can type in questions and see the questions others are asking. If you share someone else's question, give it an "upvote" to make sure the panelists see and answer it!
Joining the Pre-conference and Concurrent sessions via Zoom Webinar
Please refer to the ‘Agenda’ tab on the event website for the sessions that are available to join.

To join one of the sessions, follow the link form the topic of your choice. This link will take you into a new internet browser to join the session via Zoom Webinar. We recommend keeping the event website open in your internet browser, as you will be coming back to the main stage.

You do not need to have a Zoom account to join a zoom webinar, you can join via your internet browser.

For the best video calling experience, we recommend the Google Chrome browser.
I cannot attend the event, will the content be shared?
If you can no longer attend the event, don't worry! We will be uploading all the Science Online (SO): Inspired conference content to the website.